As always, I came back from holiday wanting to cook and eat fresh, healthy food. I briefly considered doing Veganuary, but then I remembered that I will be going out to eat quite a bit in January, and I don’t like to be limited on food choices in restaurants. I will probably try going vegan for a week at some point instead.

I had been watching Jamie Oliver’s Superfood on Channel 4 and, despite my many annoyances with the show, pinned a few of the recipes that looked nicest and easiest. This is Jamie’s butternut squash daal with fried eggs.

I made a few changes. Morrison’s didn’t sell curry leaves or black mustard seeds, and they were out of coriander.

For the temper, I used garlic and chilli as specified, 1tsp English mustard, 2tsp cumin seeds and 2tsp coriander seeds. I omitted the coriander altogether. I used sweet chilli sauce in the yoghurt instead of coriander leaves, but in future I won’t bother with the yoghurt bit at all as I don’t think it adds to the dish. I also didn’t bother with the poppadoms. Instead, I served with a bigger salad and roasted cherry tomatoes.

I got seven servings from the recipe. When I take this to work, I heat up the daal in the microwave. I fry the eggs four at a time and keep two each in separate plastic containers. I only cook the eggs for about 2-3 minutes, then heat for a minute in the microwave at work. This is also the method I use when I take nasi goreng to work, and I haven’t got salmonella yet (touch wood). I also take the salad separately.

