While looking up uses for frozen bananas, I came across the idea of using them to make a fake ice cream.

It’s super easy. You simply blitz them up in a food processor or hand blender, after leaving them to thaw for a couple of minutes.


First they just get broken up.


Then they develop a creamy texture as you whip air into them.

Then there are tasty add-ins. I like a tablespoon of peanut butter per banana.


A couple of teaspoons of cocoa powder is also good.

This is as close as I got to a styled pic.

I think the ice’cream’ you get is pretty good. The texture is nice and smooth, quite creamy, and it’s sweet. However, I have a highly suspicious palate. It knows when I’m trying to trick it. So I do think you can tell the difference between this and real, delicious creamery ice cream.

I was crazy for this idea when I first discovered it, thinking that it would revolutionise my snacking life. Never again would I find myself jonesing for chocolate when there was banana ice cream in the freezer at home. With time, my ardour has mellowed. Just because you can do something, doesn’t mean that you should. I like this idea for when I need to eat some fruit, but I’m too lazy to go to the supermarket. I’m not sure it’s the substitute for unhealthy snacks that I had hoped.

