Part of my bank holiday weekend was spent at Sew Over It Clapham at their silk camisole sewing class. I chose to make mine from some lovely blue ombré silk I bought on the Goldhawk Road. I wanted to learn how to work with silk, which has always seemed a daunting prospect.

I was between sizes so I decided to go a size down. My Betty dress, another SOI pattern, came out large all over, so I hoped I’d be safe. I was also very tight on fabric because using an ombré limited where I could cut out my pattern pieces. This is something I need to remember if working with an ombré fabric again.


This pattern introduced me to French seams, which were actually easier than I thought. I got super focused while sewing, as usual, so I only managed a picture of the one on my facing. Also it’s a dodgy iPhone pic even though I took my camera along especially.


Due to the ombré problem, you can see that my facings and main fabric ended up totally different colours. Here they are showcased again in this understitching pic.


It all seemed to be going so smoothly. I should have heard the alarm bells ringing.


Cliffhanger.

Will our intrepid hero end up with a wearable top?

Will her nemesis, Professor Perfectionism, turn up to rain on her parade?

Will she poke herself with that unpicker?

Find out next time in the continuing adventures of the Crafty Crusader!

