The new year found me in Indonesia guiltlessly munching on fried foods and ice cream- I was on holiday after all. However, I couldn’t resist the call of January to lose weight, get fit, save money and generally become a perfect human creature.

I decided that the first step would be to start having green smoothies for breakfast. 2015 was the year I discovered green drinks in all forms. A well made green smoothie not only gives you a sense of smug self-satisfaction, but actually tastes good. I had developed a worrying dependency on the guy who makes smoothies outside Sourced Market at St Pancras station, sometimes travelling there specifically for a hit.

I decided to break the cycle, cut out the middleman, and make the smoothies my damn self.

img_4255
Green juice purists might disapprove of how I make my smoothies. I add a little dried fruit for sweetness and fibre. I use fruit juice rather than water, and have banana as well as some frozen berries. I sometimes even add a touch of honey if my smoothie tastes a bit too virtuous.

I use my electronic scale to help keep my measurements on track.

Ingredients 

  • A small handful (about 20g) oats
  • A small handful (10-25g) almonds
  • A little dried fruit- I use a dried fig or a couple of apricots depending on what I have on hand
  • 200ml apple juice or water
  • 80g avocado- this is half a small avocado or a quarter of a large avocado
  • 80g (1 small) banana
  • 80g frozen spinach
  • A small handful (about 40g) frozen berries
  • 80g (1 stalk) celery
  • 80g cucumber
  • 1tsp (about 10g) fresh ginger
  • 1tsp spirulina (optional)
  • Ice or water to bring smoothie to desired texture and temperature

Top tips 

  • To save time in the morning, I often soak the nuts, oats and dried fruit in the juice overnight, along with the unfrozen veg. Since my smoothie machine came with two bottles, I prepare two in the same evening

  • I sometimes chop up bananas and keep them in the freezer as a further time saver (it means I don’t have to run to the shop for bananas every three days)

  

  • I do the same with the fresh ginger, buying large fresh pieces when I see them and storing them prepared in pots in the freezer

  

  • This recipe is super flexible. You can substitute most ingredients for whatever you have on hand.
  • Don’t drop the blade of the blender on your foot. It hurts.

For me this smoothie is really balanced. It’s fresh with a lovely zing from the ginger. The avocado and banana give a nice smooth texture. I don’t know what spirulina is meant to do, but it makes the smoothie a nice colour and helps me feel like I am taking care of my body as I prepare to exit my twenties.

