I took a massive hiatus in knitting this hat after initially being thrilled with the result. The problem was that the beautiful pattern stretched out on my big melon head and it slightly spoilt the effect for me.

Princess of Power HatIMG_3657

If you are not an insane perfectionist, lucky you! You will not notice that the pattern looks less poppy and vibrant when worn as opposed to when flat. I envy you.

My wish to make the best version of this hat I could led me on a fascinating fact-finding mission in which I learned a lot about self-striping yarns and pooling effects. I also learnt that there was no way I could re-knit the hat to be bigger while maintaining the pattern. The only option left to me was blocking.

I grit my teeth. I sewed in the million ends I had because I wanted to maintain the colour blocking in the crown of the hat. Did I mention that I am crazy?

I also went and purchased a balloon. I have always blocked hats flat in the past. Well, I really seldom blocked them, but on the rare occasions I did, they were flat. I measured my head (I think it was 23 inches in circumference for anyone who is interested, which should be no one). I blew the balloon up to 25 ins. I thought it might be better to overshoot, and also balloon geometry meant that it worked better- the balloon is spherical while the human head is an elongated spheroid.



I think I made the hat slightly too big, but I can’t be bothered to try and fix it again. Lesson for next time. I also should not have blocked it with the brim folded. However, I am happier with the look now.


The final finishing touch is a giant pompom.


Et voila!


Overall this hat has been a reminder of the way in which my perfectionism can prevent me from taking pleasure in the things I make. Although I’m trying to work on this trait in myself, it continues to be a problem.

Pattern: Classic Cuffed Hat (free)

Yarn: Sparkle DK in Princess of Power by The Lemonade Shop

Ravelry project page

