I finally got the chance to do my first from-scratch bake of the year, and decided to make these brownies with a cherry cheesecake topping. I spent some time on Pinterest last year looking for recipes to use up the 400g glace cherries I inherited from my old housemate. This was the recipe I settled on.

Cherry cheesecake brownies

I think these brownies were really tasty, though I think the balance is a little off. I would have preferred slightly less brownie and slightly more of the baked cream cheese topping. It’s so good. Maybe if I made these again I would try and do three quarters of the stated amounts for the brownies. It would probably be safe to freeze some of the batter for future midwinter sugar cravings. I liked how simple the brownie recipe was, though I do think other brownies I have made in the past were nicer.

I made no changes to the recipe as stated except improvising my own ‘cherry pie filling’

Ingredients

  • 200g glace cherries* **
  • Two tinned apricots, or dried apricots that you have soaked until soft
  • Lemon juice (to taste)
  • Red food colouring (optional)

*I think this would be nicer using tinned or frozen cherries, but I had glace cherries on hand so that’s what I used

**Eagle-eyed readers will notice that I had 400g cherries but specify only 200g here. I did use all 400g cherries but it made too much cherry sauce

Method

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until you have a thick sauce consistency. Add the lemon juice to taste. If you do use tinned or frozen cherries, taste and add sugar if needed. The sauce should be sweet, but balanced. Add a teaspoon of water at a time if your ingredients are not mixing well.

Check out this brownie cheesecake GIF.

 

 

