I quickly crocheted this Innocent hat a couple of weeks ago as my last project for the HPKCHC before taking a sabbatical. I think I’ve benefitted a lot from the Cup adding a community and competition element to the highly solitary craft of knitting. However, I have a lot of other priorities in my life at the moment, and I think I’m using knitting too much as an avoidance strategy. Next year I will continue to knit, of course. Knitting has really become part of my identity. I’ll just be doing it purely on my own terms, which is how I like it really.

Anyway, back to the hat. I am half Jamaican so this is totes not cultural appropriation.

IMG_3943

Ably modelled by Arya Stark.

I followed a really rubbish pattern in a book of egg cosy patterns I have for some unfathomable reason. I thought about writing it up, but I’m sure Ravelry is already awash with super simple crochet patterns for Innocent hats. This one was great as is only took me about half an hour in total, including getting angry because I was struggling with the pattern.

Pattern: Jamaican me a hat (personal pattern)

Yarn: Ends of Jamieson & Smith 2-ply jumper weight, held double

Crochet hook: 3.5mm I think

Ravelry project page

