I stumbled across this recipe on Pinterest when I was looking for a good lemon bar recipe. This week I was after a simple cake to make, so I decided to give it a go. The recipe promises three distinct layers from a single batter, which intrigued me. Here’s what I ended up with.

Definitely two layers I’d say.

The cake definitely has two distinct textures, a pleasantly squidgy bottom with a light and airy sponge on the top, pleasantly frangranced with lemon zest.

I’m not going to post the full recipe as I probably wouldn’t make this again in its current incarnation. The cake wasn’t lemony enough for my taste, and I think I would prefer the dense squidgy bit without the sponge on top. Basically, I wish I had made lemon bars! My quest for a good recipe continues…

For anyone who does make the recipe via the link, here are a few pics to show how the batter looked. Mine was definitely done in 40 minutes. The bottom was very puddingy, but if I’d left it any longer, the top would have dried out.


    

God knows we could do with a little more sweetness in the world.

