Last time I went to a fabric shop (Sew Over It in Clapham fyi) I accidentally picked up the last of this feather print cotton. I broke many of my stashing rules in doing so- I didn’t have a specific pattern in mind and I try not to buy cotton as I don’t find it the most versatile fabric. But I didn’t think of any of that when I was in that fabric shop. All I thought was FEATHERS

  

Anyone who knows me IRL will likely also know that I am almost always wearing something sky-themed. I love birds, clouds, rainbows and the colour blue.

I hoped to make a dress but 1.5 metres wasn’t enough for any of the patterns I liked. Even though I already have a couple of midi skirts, I decided that another one wouldn’t go amiss. I spent quite a while researching patterns, considering if I had enough material for a half circle skirt and generally farting around on sewing blogs.  In the end I decided to copy my favourite midi skirt from Whistles.

Finished hand knitted Opposite Pole cardigan

I examined the way the skirt is pleated so I could replicate it. I also used this blog post for reference.

I started out by cutting a 3″ strip for my waistband, then cut the remaining fabric in half for my front and back sections. I decided on a zip at the centre back so I could have pockets in both sides of the skirt. So I also cut the back section in half and sewed the seam, leaving a gap for an 8″ zip.

Then it was time to pleat the fabric until it was down to my waist measurement + seam allowance.

This took AGES, but was an essential step for a good fit. I then basted all of my pleats in place.

Not bad, eh?

My next step will be to insert the zip. I’m planning an exposed zip as I think they’re cute.

