I’ve had the yarn for this sweater in my stash for over a year, and I’ve had the pattern saved on Ravelry for about five. So I’m pleased to have finally cast on. This is how I’m hoping the jumper will look when it’s finished.

Credit to Emmygram on Ravelry.

I plan for this to be my version of a novelty Xmas jumper. It will combine many things I love- Studio Ghibli, knitting and kitsch.

I had initially planned to use K2P2 corrugated rib on the hem, sleeves and neckline because it look so cute on my Peerie Flooers hat. However, after consulting Ravelry I was worried it might look messy so stuck with K1P1 as per the pattern and sample pic above. I think I made the right choice.

The red is my provisional cast on. This will be removed at the end and finished with an I-cord bind off either in the dark green or perhaps dark blue. I’ve got a bit of a rainbow motif going on and I loves me some rainbow.

I used the crochet method suggested by Kate Davies in the pattern and it worked really well. However, I was terrified that I might have accidentally twisted it!

I’m really proud of myself because I’ve been knitting  the colourwork two-handed! I remember reading about ‘two-fisted fair isle’ in Stitch and Bitch when I first started knitting and thinking I would never be able to do that.

Look mum, two hands!

I’m on to the endless and dull stocking section now.

Check out my floats! There are a few little mistakes I can’t quite figure out, but overall I think the wrong side is looking good.

Pattern: Paper Dolls by Kate Davies

Yarn: Titus by Baa Ram Ewe.

The green, yellow, blue and purple are Jamieson & Smith 2-ply jumper weight.

Ravelry project page

