I’ve been wanting to make a hat for a while. I love knitting hats, but I try not to do it too often otherwise I would have hundreds of hats. As much as I would love that, I live in London and thus have limited hat storage capacity. First world problems.

Anyway, I decided to treat myself to a new hat. I am obsessed with the yarns dyed by The Lemonade Shop, so new American yarn was part of the treat.

Yummy. I couldn’t resist winding this yarn straight away.

I had intended to make a beautiful cabled Vogue hat, but lovely textures tend to get lost in crazy yarns, so I decided to keep it simple. I cast on and was a little worried the cuff was tight.

I always look grumpy on the bus.

I also wasn’t happy with how the colours were pooling. I had imagined large sections of white and turquoise, and this had an air of clown vomit to it. Disappointing given how excited I had been. I decided to press on and experiment with striping the yarn from each end of the ball to see if this improved the pooling.

As you may be able to see, the pooling improved a bit on the ribbing section, but looks a bit funny again once I switched to stocking stitch. I tried on the hat at this stage and was happy with the size, so I decided to rip the hat out and start again. I did go up a needle size for the ribbing.

I won’t keep you in suspense.


YES!

This is exactly what I had in mind when I bought this yarn. It puts me in mind of a super cool comic book about a badass magical girl.

Here’s what I looks like with the brim flipped up, which is how I will wear it.

Update before publication: I’ve finished the knitting on the hat and now I’m a little uncertain. It’s slightly too small and I don’t know if I like the contrast stripe.


To re-knit this to fit I think I would have to add eight stitches, which I think would throw off the awesome pooling.

I’m a bit annoyed as my gauge is exactly correct, but then I do have a big head. Maybe I need to do the finishing before I decide as a massive pompom hides a multitude of sins.

Pattern: Classic Cuffed Hat (free)

Yarn: Sparkle DK in Princess of Power by The Lemonade Shop

Ravelry project page

