When, ten days ago, our mutual friend announced that his wedding would have a cat theme, Cayleigh and I knew we had a sacred duty to dress her baby as a cat. My part in this was, of course, the hat. I think we did pretty well!

That is one foxy baby. Arthur was preoccupied with chewing on my water bottle for much of the wedding. Way to use those new chompers, kid!

As you can see, the hat turned out a bit big. I used knitting maths to calculate the correct number of stitches to cast on, which was 90. However, since I like my hats to be knit in multiples of 12, I decided to round up. I would say this hat would be a good fit for someone with a head circumference of 20 inches. This is a downside of my motto ‘go big or go home’.

Changes I would make if I made this again:

  • Knit the brim in rib, so it is fully reversible
  • Knit a slightly longer brim

I didn’t use a pattern, but this is what I did.

Using 4.5mm needles, CO 96sts, join to work in the round

Knit in garter rib (or any rib) for about an inch

Switch to 5mm needles and knit… for a bit. I think I knit until the hat was 5.5″, which was probably a bit too long. The decrease portion adds around 1.75″ to the hat.

Decrease as I did in the baby bear hat

Add ears following Official Kittyville Hat, which is in Stitch ‘n’ Bitch. The only change I made was to knit the ears in the round

Okay, I’m sensing you’re sick of the knitting chat and dying to see more chubby baby cheeks.

Yarn: 1 skein Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino

Ravelry project page

