In response to the Great British Bake Off, Biscuiteers have done a series of blog posts containing recipes for classic British biscuits. When I saw their recipe for Party Rings, I cracked. I love Party Rings. They’re possibly my favourite classic-ish biscuit, mainly because I don’t like things like Bourbons, Custard Creams or Rich Teas. For me, they’re a waste of calories. But Party Rings are so sweet and crunchy, and take me back to all the best aspects of childhood birthday parties. There’s  nothing sweeter than nostalgia, except these cookies.

I’m not going to lie, these are Party Ring lookalikes, but not taste-alikes. They don’t have the same crispness as the original. I read somewhere that Party Ring icing contains some special additive that gives it that special texture.

I used Biscuiteers’ vanilla rolled cookie recipe. Although I liked the idea of using golden syrup, I think I prefer the nutty cookie recipe I posted before. I think I overworked the dough slightly as it turned out drier than I’m used to. Also be warned- the recipe states that it yields 24-30 cookies but I got over 40. I might have halved the recipe or frozen some dough if I’d known.

For the icing I used Biscuiteers’ royal icing recipe. I used the egg white version and halved it. Initially I quartered it, but I didn’t feel like I had enough icing for two colours. In hindsight, the quartered recipe would have been enough. I used the pipe and flood technique, where you have the icing at two consistencies.

Watch the consistency of your icing if you use the egg white recipe. My pink icing was a little too viscous, which made the whole icing process rather arduous. Be warned, it took me over five hours to make this batch of biscuits.

You first pipe a barrier to contain the looser icing.

For the classic Party Ring look, you then pipe stripes of flood icing in a contrast colour onto the wet flood icing.

Then drag a toothpick or pin perpendicular to the lines.

I made a little GIF demonstrating the whole process. Sad that WordPress doesn’t support them, it’s pretty hypnotic!

If you like your crafts interspersed with pictures of Serena Williams, my Tumblr could be for you.

