Mini update as I’m so pleasantly surprised by how well my pumpkin plants are doing. Eagle-eyed readers of my Watermelon Elephant post may have noticed that the photoshoot took place in my pumpkin patch. Watermellie was a project for the HPKCHC, for a challenge with a loose garden theme. I believe that watermelons and pumpkins are from similar families, so I thought it would be cute to tell a silly story about her emerging from one of my pumpkin flowers. I was doing some weeding today and that prompted me to write a separate post.

Here’s a reminder of how the plants first looked when I transferred them to the garden.

So fragile! A few weeks later, on 16th July, they looked like this.

I weeded afterward I took the pic, don’t worry!

Flowers soon started to appear.

Some of which hatched elephants.

Watermelon striped Elefante by Susan B Anderson

And here is how my plants looked on 3rd August.

Looks like I planted them a bit close together. Oops. But look at my babies!

Also, the plant that I thought was dead totally was a Jesus plant as it’s now flourishing. I think pumpkins must be pretty hardy as I nearly killed another plant through overzealous weeding and that recovered too.

