Turns out that late July has become a weird time for me, which essentially means a lot more time spent knitting. I was browsing Ravelry recently and saw a thread for a mini KAL (knit along) of a gorgeous textured shawl, Bradway.


The pattern evoked fantasies of snuggling up next to a fire, s’more in hand, and before I knew it I was feverishly browsing yarns. Eventually I decided that this shawl would be the perfect opportunity for me to use yarns from one of my favourite dyers, The Lemonade Shop. I settled on these colours.

Hell yeah!

I bought two skeins of sock yarn to hold double as the Flashdance colourway was sold out in worsted weight and it didn’t want to worsted wait.

I decided to use the leftover dark purple/navy yarn from my Little Wave cardigan as the equivalent to the white in the sample above, to break up the colours.  I made the navy stripes narrower as I don’t have too much of that yarn and I’d rather not buy a new skein. 

This is a highly addictive knit, both due to the yarn and the pattern. I was a little anxious at the point of taking the picture above as I was worried the shawl would be too busy, but I’m happier now. As the rows get longer, the knitting does become more laborious but I’m keen to get this finished as I want to take it to a festival in early August.

 

