Last Thursday I braved crossing strike-struck London for the third leg of my sewing workshop at Sew Over It. It was another intense evening of sewing, but I came out with a little something special.

Week One

Week Two

There was lots to be done on Thursday. I think the first step was to sew the inside legs. I next made my waistband. Julie had a good tip for clipping curves and notches: use the tip of the scissors to avoid clipping too far, and clip a line, not a wedge.

Next I pinned the side seams so my trousers could be fitted.

I like the way they look inside out! I was tempted to sew them up like this. I’m also rocking my waistband as a statement necklace. The fit was pretty good, so it was time to stitch the side seams and attach the waistband. I decided to hand finish it so there wouldn’t be visible top stitching. Here’s how it looks finished.

I also hand finished the hems at home.

