A few years ago, I overcame the dramatic and turbulent changes in my weight that I’d seen in my late teens and early twenties. One of my remaining bad habits was that I never ate breakfast. After finally losing weight, I was worried that increasing my food intake would lead to increasing my waistline. But I was also aware of some of my blood sugar highs and lows throughout the day and eventually I took the plunge.
I’ve never looked back since and I remain a committed consumer of brekkie. I love porridge in the winter, but had more difficulty finding healthy and filling ways to break my fast in summer. Cereal with fake milk was okay, but I was always starving by 10am. One day, I saw a former Australian housemate making something for his lactose intolerant sister, who was visiting. He grated apples. He did stuff with oats. He manipulated nuts and seeds. And I learned that Bircher Muesli exists.


I love Bircher Muesli in the summer. I am going to give the basic recipe I use. Please note that a little variation in the quantities is no problem. You must prepare this at least a few hours before serving, preferably the night before.

Ingredients 

Per serving

  • 1 apple
  • A squeeze of lemon juice
  • 25g oats
  • 75ml fruit juice or smoothie

I normally make five servings at a time and leave it in the fridge throughout the week.  I add the following items to taste each day.

  • A handful of berries, fresh or frozen
  • A couple of tablespoons of Greek yoghurt
  • A couple of tablespoons of nuts
  • A little dried fruit
  • A squeeze of honey

Method 

  1. Grate your apples. I think it’s important to do this by hand and use unpeeled apples to ensure a great texture (no pun intended)
  2. Squeeze over some lemon to prevent the apple from browning
  3. Add oats

  

4. Add your juice. If you have a little less than you need, top up with water. 

5. Stir well and refrigerate.

  

6. In the morning, the oats will have soaked up lots of liquid. Stir in what you like just before serving and savour. 

