Thursday was day two of the Cigarette Pants workshop at Sew Over It. I wrote about day one here. Again, I  really enjoyed it and the three hours flew. This week focused on making the front of the trousers, which included pocket construction, sewing the fly and a butt load of overlocking.

I didn’t take many pictures because I was so busy sewing. Here are all my prepared pocket facings.

…and here is the completed front part of the trousers.

Apologies for the dodgy pic, there’s not much good light in my house.  
You can just about see the navy blue around most of the legs, which is the result of about half an hour of solid overlocking.

At the top corners you can see my pockets. But this is the most exciting bit.  

Pretty fly for a white guy!

My first ever fly, and actually my first ever independent zip insertion. Mum has lost her zip foot, which is part of the reason I normally let her do them.

Check out the inside of these pants! 

So snazzy.

There’s a lot to finish next week. As well as the final fitting and construction, there is a lot of work to be done on the waistband.

I fall a little bit more in love with the colour of my fabric every week and I can’t wait to get these babies finished.

