I wanted to make something very quick last week, for a cool reason and definitely not for a Quidditch match in the HPKCHC, and I decided I would finally extend my crochet skills for making amigurumi. If you’ve ever seen cute crocheted toys, they are probably amigurumi, which I think is a Japanese technique. I made two simple stuffed golden balls. No sniggering in the back!

Each sphere probably only took half an hour. I learned how to do a single crochet, and how to increase and decrease single crochets. My crocheting really is incredibly basic and they were very simple techniques to learn. I stuffed them with old tights to make them more animal friendly. Here they are being played with by an adorable puppy.

Puppy playing with crocheted ball

The pattern is available for free on Ravelry, and is actually a Golden Snitch pattern, but I couldn’t be bothered making the wings.

Pattern

Ravelry project page

Yarn: Some cheap acrylic DK from my stash

Hook: 3.5mm

