I’m pretty over the moon with how my shark print version of the Ultimate Trousers by Sew Over It turned out. Check out this print! 

I love them. Mum helped me to make a few adjustments. We added pockets at the front (rather than at the side seams), which meant that the zip placement had to be moved from the side to the front. Here are a few process pics.

   

The pattern recommends at least 1.5m of fabric but I was easily able to cut out for Size 10 from 1m.

  

If making the shorts version, note that the pattern as printed is for quite long shorts- I am 5″3 with long legs and these shorts would have been close to reaching my knees. This is important because I had to cut at least 2 inches from the hem AND add an extra wedge of fabric to the inside leg as these are slim-fitting trousers. If you want shorter shorts, bear this in mind before cutting out.  

 

 I am continuing in my quest for practical clothing for women, so I was determined to add pockets to these shorts. I wanted pockets in the front rather than in-seam pockets, which meant a little more work as well as moving the zip to the front rather than the side of the shorts.

  

Here is how they look on. Apologies for the crushed callalloo look. I sat on a train for two hours prior to this photo being taken.   

I left room for turn-ups as per the pattern, but I stupidly put my painstakingly hand-sewn hem too close to the bottom of the shorts, which means that the stitches on the inside are visible. One day I will re-do the hem and turn up the shorts, but not for a while.

 

I’m sorry, Mr Photographer, are you asking to shoor me from the rear?

 

