This is my first bake in my new kitchen! I think these cookies came out pretty well even though it turned out that I had the wrong kind of flour, I’ve lost my raising agents in the move and my oven doesn’t have any markings indicating the temperature. May have to capitulate and buy and oven thermotmeter.

These cookies were well reviewed by all who tasted them despite the issues. They are soft and cakey with a delicate lemon flavour. I upped the lemon in the recipe I give below compared to the original. Since I use vanilla sugar, the cookies also have a lovely perfume, and the roll in icing sugar prior to the oven gives a slight crisp to the outside. I will try these again and report back on the difference!

 

Ingredients 

Makes 16 cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4tsp salt
  • 1/4tsp baking powder
  • 1/8tsp bicarbonate of soda 
  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar

Note: I used self raising flour in lieu of the flour and raising agents, hence my puffer cookies. 

Method

1. Preheat your oven to 180C/350F (or a random temperature in my case). Line two baking sheets with baking parchment.

2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. 

3. Add vanilla, egg, lemon zest and juice.

4. Stir in dry ingredients (except the icing sugar) until just combined.

5. Put the icing sugar into a small bowl. Form a heaped teaspoon of dough into a ball and roll in powdered sugar. Place on baking sheet and repeat with remaining dough.

  

6. Bake for 9-11 minutes, until bottoms begin to brown and cookies look matte, rather than wet or shiny. Remove from oven and cool for about 3 minutes on tray before transferring to cooling rack.

