Wow, it’s been nearly a year since I went to the Robin Collective’s marshmallow workshop with Anna. How time flies! I thought I would revisit the workshop now as I’m a complete sucker for posh marshmallows so I would like to give them a go. One of the things that prevented me from trying before was the fact that I didn’t have a stand mixer. Now I do, the world’s my artisanal oyster-flavoured savoury marshmallow. Yummers.

Here are some of the sweets I decorated. I am a child.

20140422-142133.jpg

The basic recipe they gave us is below. I queried the lack of egg white, and was told that egg white gives a fluffier marshmallow, but that a lot of gourmet mallows omit it because people like the chewier texture. I will probably experiment if I ever get around to trying this out.

As well as a stand mixer, a sugar thermometer is recommended kit.

Ingredients

  • 2tsps/10g (1 sachet) powdered gelatin
  • 1cup / 200g sugar
  • 1/4cup/ 60ml water
  • 1/2 cup/ 120ml glucose syrup
  • 1 large egg white (optional)
  • Flavourings/colourings (optional)
  • Either a 1:1 mixture of icing sugar and cornflour (for cube marshmallows) or granulated sugar (coloured if desired) for piped shapes

Method

1. Prepare yourself. For cube marshmallows, grease a baking tray, being careful not to leave any lumps. Then sprinkle generously with the mixture of icing sugar and cornflour. For piped shape mallows, fill a baking tray or dish with coloured sugar.

Trays of coloured sugar

It’s easy to colour sugar yourself using food colouring. Just add a few drops and stir to avoid lumps. Also leave open after colouring- any dampness will cause lumps. If you get some lumps, smashing them up with a mallet is very therapeutic.

Smash up any lumps of sugar with a wooden mallet

2. In the bowl of the stand mixer, soak gelatin in water. Leave for several minutes to bloom

3. Meanwhile, gently heat sugar, glucose and water (add a pinch of salt if you like) until the sugar has dissolved. Then, turn up the heat and take the solution to ‘soft ball’ stage (around 112C). Keep a close eye so that it doesn’t burn.

4. Pour the mixture into the bowl of the stand mixer and start on its lowest setting to minimise the risk of scalding by hot sugar. Gradually turn the speed up, then allow to mix for at least ten minutes. If you want to add egg white, take the time now to whisk the white to firm peaks in a separate, spotlessly clean, bowl.

IMG_0946

5. If you want to add flavourings, you need to do it when the marshmallow has fluffed up quite a bit, but is still gloopy. Flavourings need to be added in moderation, especially alcohol, as too much liquid will prevent the marshmallow from setting. Add your egg white now if using.

6. Continue to whisk the mixture for a little longer, but make sure it does not set. The consistency should be similar to marshmallow fluff.

7. For cube mallows, pour the mixture into the prepared baking tray and spread out. Leave to set overnight.

For piped mallow shapes, fill a piping bag with your mixture.

Ready to pipe some mallow

Pipe straight onto your coloured sugar in your chosen shape.

Piping a pink marshmallow bunny

Immediately use a spoon to bury the shape under more coloured sugar. Leave to set for at least five minutes before carefully excavating.

Home made marshmallow bunny

You can use writing icing to add some more detail.

For multicoloured shapes, I partitioned my designs into sections. For example, for my bee, I started with the body, leaving it to set under yellow sugar. I then transferred the shape onto some plain granulated sugar and piped on the wings, taking care to join them to the body firmly.

IMG_0949

Cover the mallow in sugar as above, trying to avoid mixing the coloured sugars as far as possible.

IMG_0952

Have fun and make sure to enjoy the fruits of your labour.

Me consuming a marshmallow bunny

Isn’t it funny that this photograph would win me the very stand mixer I need to make more marshmallow? I love circularity at times.

