I am so pleased with how my first little baby hat turned out that I thought I would write up the pattern to share with anyone who wants to try their hand at knitting one. This would be an ideal project for someone new to knitting. You could learn all sorts of new skills such as knitting in the round, picking up stitches and grafting, with the added bonus of instant gratification from a quick knit. I mean, look at the little ears. Srsly.

Thanks to those of you who voted for panda or polar bear. The polar party just edged it!

I’m giving directions to knit this hat in the round. I used my interchangeable needles and the magic loop method. I didn’t understand magic loop for years until someone at Wool and the Gang showed me a very easy trick. I’m sure there are some good tutorials available if you haven’t got the hang of it yet.

DPNs would also be fine. Additionally, you could easily knit this hat flat and then seam it before picking up the ears. It’s pretty versatile.

You will need

  • About 25g (70yards) baby friendly double knitting (DK) yarn. I used half a ball of Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino
  • 4mm DPNs or a long circular needle
  • 4.5mm DPNs or a long circular

My gauge was 20sts to 10cm. I didn’t measure the row gauge, but it doesn’t matter too much.

The how

1. Using long tail method and smaller needles, cast on 72 stitches and join to work in the round. Place marker to indicate beginning of row.

2. Knit 4 rows

3. Change to larger needles. Continue to knit around until hat measures 4-5”

4. Begin to decrease the crown. *K7 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [64sts remain]

5. Knit

6. *K6 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [56sts remain]

7. Knit

8.  *K5 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [48sts remain]

9. Knit

10. *K4 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [40sts remain]

11. *K3 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [32sts remain]

12. *K2 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [24sts remain]

13. *K1 k2tog *Repeat to end of round [16sts remain]

14. K2tog around. 8sts remain

15. Break yarn and draw tightly through remaining 8 loops with a darning needle. Weave in ends.

For ears

1. Starting at the apex of the crown, count 6 stitches down and then pick up and knit 10 stitches in one of the ladders running down towards the cast on edge.

2. If using magic loop, pull needle through. If using DPNs, use another needle. PU&K 10 stitches in the ladder parallel to your picked up stitches, one row over. *

Note: I am using a second needle for illustration purposes only

3. Join to work in the round.

4. K4 rounds. Note: You may wish to place a marker in between the two sets of ten stitches if you think you will get lost.

5. K1, SSK, K4, K2tog, K1 over each set of 10sts

6. K1, SSK, K2, K2tog, K1 over each set of 8sts

7. K1, SSK, K2tog, K1 over each set of 6sts

8.  If desired, lightly stuff ears at this point. I didn’t bother as I think they look cute flat.


9. Graft remaining 8 stitches using kitchener stitch. Use ends of yarn to neaten up the appearance of the ears. 

If knitting on straight needles, knit each half of the ear (i.e. each set of 10sts) separately, then sew together at the end.

Repeat for second ear on other side of hat. Weave in ends. If desired, use duplicate stitch to sew a face onto your bear with black yarn. You can also add some pink inside the ear. I planned to, but then I thought the hat looked so cute without any embellishment that I left it as is.

