I’ve been really seized by the desire to make things this week. I’m also trying to use up the ingredients in my cupboard as I’m planning to move house soon. I’ve had this recipe for apple, pecan and cinnamon bread pinned for a while, so I decided to try it out.
The method of cutting and stacking the slices of dough is the same as I used in my pumpkin tear and share bread.

IMG_2370
I’m pretty happy with it!

Since I’m moving, I’ve decided to keep my magical new mixer safe in its box until I’m in my new place. I quite enjoyed making this bread by hand and I noticed that my kneading technique has improved a lot this year. You only have to do it a few times before you get a ‘feel’ for when the dough is ready to rise.
This a lovely soft enriched white loaf packed with apple, nuts and caramel. It’s gooood. I also learnt something, if you use a American recipe that calls for King Arthur All Purpose Flour, you should substitute strong rather than plain flour. Important.
Ingredients
For the bread

  • 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) butter, very soft
  • 1/3 cup milk, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup water, at room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups strong white flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast- note this is slightly over one sachet

For the filling

  • 3 apples
  • 2tbsp butter
  • 1tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped (optional)

For the icing

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 2-6 tbsp milk

Method
1. Whisk together the butter, milk, water, eggs, and vanilla extract
2. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, salt, and yeast, then add the wet ingredients.
3. Turn out onto a lightly floured or oiled surface. Knead until the dough is smooth, about 5-7 mins. It will be quite soft. If it seems very sticky add a little flour, up to a 1/4 cup
4. Transfer the ball of dough to a lightly oiled bowl and cover.

IMG_2354
5. Leave to rise for about an hour, until doubled in size.

IMG_2355
6. Just before the hour is up, prepare the filling. Mix the cinnamon into the sugar and thinly slice your apples. Coarsely chop the nuts. Melt the butter.

IMG_2356
7. Grease a 9″ x 5″ loaf tin
8. Turn the dough out onto a lightly greased surface. Roll into a 12″ x 20″ rectangle.
9. Spread the melted butter over the top of the dough, using a pastry brush
10. Sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture over the top, using your hand to press into the butter

IMG_2357
11. Add the apples and sprinkle on the nuts.

IMG_2358
12. Stack the slices into the greased baking tin. Cram in any filling that has slipped out.

IMG_2360
13. Cover the tin and leave to rise for about an hour. Preheat oven to 180C (350F) after 45mins.

IMG_2363
14. Bake for 45-55 minutes in the centre of the oven, tenting it with foil after 30 minutes if the loaf is browning too quickly.
15. Remove from oven and transfer loaf to a rack to cool for 15-20 minutes before turning it out of pan to cool completely.

IMG_2365
16. Make up the glaze and pour over load while it is still warm.

IMG_2373

