Yesterday I found myself with a need for sweet, but it was far too cold for me to venture to the corner shop. I thought I had the ingredients for gingerbread, so I merrily mixed the butter, sugar, golden syrup and egg. And then realised I had no plain flour. I’ve been quite strict recently as I’m planning to move house soon and I’m trying to empty my overly full food cupboard, hence this uncharacteristic oversight. I couldn’t waste that bowl of ingredients, so I made a last minute substitution and went for flapjacks instead. Egg is not a traditional ingredient, but it was too late so I had to hope that it wouldn’t ruin them.

IMG_0060.JPG
Phew! I think the flapjacks are a bit cakier than normal, but that ain’t no thang.
Here is the recipe, adapted from Mary Berry’s, that I should have used.

Ingredients

  • 120ml (1/2 cup) golden syrup
  • 100g (1/2 cup) sugar (I used half dark brown and half granulated, or demerara would be good)
  • 125g (1/2 cup) butter
  • 250g (2 1/2 cups) oats

Method

  1. Preheat the oven t0 180C. Grease an 8 inch square baking tin. I used a loose-bottommed one, which made removing the flapjack easy even though some of the caramel leaked during baking. I think it would be a good idea to line the tin with baking parchment. If your tin isn’t loose-bottommed, leave an overhang on two sides that you can use to lift the flapjack out at the end.
  2. Combine the butter, sugar and syrup in a small saucepan. Cook over a low-medium heat until all of the sugar is completely dissolved and the mixture is uniform (and delicious).
  3. Stir in the oats, and mix until well combined.
  4. Transfer the mixture to your prepared baking tin. Smooth the top down using a wooden spoon.
  5. Bake for 20-30 mins, until the edges are golden and the flapjack appears set.
  6. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/169/47065545/files/2014/12/img_0479.jpg

  7. Remove from the oven onto a wire rack and leave to cool in the tin. If you want, you can mark out your bars after 5 mins to make cutting easier.
  8. Once cool, remove from tin, cut to size and consume.
