This is one of my very favourite quotations from the late, great Maya Angelou. Over the past few years I’ve been rediscovering the feminist beliefs I held so passionately up until the age of twelve or so, but that were totally crushed out of me by the patriarchy. Damn patriarchy.

Anyway, this is a message that really resonates with me, and I try to take it on board in life wherever I can. I wanted to share it with a close friend who has been having a difficult time.

IMG_1602.JPG
My process was the standard, starting with a sketch. I couldn’t decide to do with the dots of the ‘i’s so at first I left them off.

IMG_1605.JPG
As I copied the design onto tracing paper, I added a few final changes when I reversed it onto the white card stock I would be cutting. This included the addition of the little kites.

IMG_1588.JPG
Next it was time to cut. You can look here if you want to see my process. A surprisingly tricky bit was cutting the tracing paper to fill the word ‘air’. Very fiddly.

IMG_1597.JPG

