This week I baked a really lovely wholemeal loaf bursting with brie and fresh basil. Mmm, cheese. This is another recipe adapted from Paul Hollywood’s 100 Great Breads BUT there is no picture. This is what mine came out like, though of course I have no idea whether the great Mr Hollywood would approve of my interpretation.

IMG_1567.JPG
What? No, that strategically placed butter definitely isn’t covering up a slightly underbaked bit in the middle of the loaf.
This bread is tasty, but if I made it again I’d probably make it with half white flour rather than all wholemeal as I find the flavour a bit strong.
Ingredients

  • 500g strong wholemeal flour (use part strong white if you want)
  • 75ml olive oil
  • 10g salt
  • 15g instant yeast
  • 300ml water
  • 100g brie, thinly sliced
  • A handful of fresh basil

IMG_0097.JPG
Method
1. Add the flour, salt, yeast and olive oil to a bowl, with the salt and yeast on opposite sides. Combine the ingredients.
2. Slowly add the water, mixing with your hands between additions, until all the flour is incorporated and the dough is soft to the touch. You may need a little more or less water.
3. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured countertop. Knead for 6 mins until the dough is pliable.
4. Lightly oil your bowl, then return the ball of dough to it. Cover and leave to rise for two hours.
5. Line a baking tray with parchment. Again, put the dough onto a floured surface and shape into a ‘mini baguette’. I did mine like this.

IMG_0076.JPG
6. Sprinkle the top with wholemeal flour, then make several slashes in the dough lengthways down the middle. I think I made mine too long and deep (you’ll see the consequence later) so be careful at this stage.

IMG_0102-0.JPG
7. Push the Brie and basil into the grooves.

IMG_0008.JPG
8. Cover and rest for 2 hours.

IMG_0098.JPG
As you can see, my overly large slashes damaged the structure of the loaf, making it looked weird. I squished it all back together but, startlingly, it didn’t really work.

IMG_0095.JPG
9. Preheat oven to 200C/400F/gas mark 6. Bake bread for 20 mins, until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

IMG_0091.JPG

