Another of my Knitting and Stitching Show purchases was a kit to make a pair of pumpkin earrings for Halloween. I decided to dig out my old jewellery making stuff and turn them into jack-o-lantern earrings.

IMG_1652.JPG
Here’s a blurry pic of the kit. I like my dangly earrings to have plenty of movement and not be too stiff, so I knew I would have to make some changes to the suggested design.

IMG_1615-0.JPG
If you want to make your own incredibly snazzy halloween earrings, you will need:

  • 2 spherical orange beads
  • nail polish (black and orange and yellow, if you have them) or a permanent marker
  • 2 headpins
  • 6 green seed beads
  • 4 jump rings (optional)
  • 2 short lengths of chain
  • 4 small leaf-shaped beads
  • 2 ear wires (pierced or non-pierced)
  • You will also need small jewellery pliers
    This is a really cheap project. I bought my kit for £1 and you should be able to pick up the materials for this amount or less.
    ‘Carve’ your pumpkins
    You can simply draw faces on with black marker or nail varnish and a tiny brush.
    If you fancy more of a challenge, use yellow and orange varnish to give the design a shining light effect. Starting with the yellow, roughly fill in the areas you want to look cut out.

    IMG_1622.JPG
    If you have orange too, blend it in with the yellow. I used a crisp packet as a palette to help me. I also looked at reference images on Google to help me get an idea of how the light shines through pumpkin carvings.

    IMG_1623.JPG
    Next, outline with black to neaten the design. I used a striping brush, which was extremely fiddly. A marker would be much easier I think.
    Thread a seed bead, and then the pumpkin bead onto the headpin. Thread on two more seed beads, then make a loop above them.

    IMG_1640.JPG
    Put your pumpkins together
    Attach the complete pumpkin to the end of one length of chain.
    Put each leaf bead onto a jump ring. I actually made my jump rings from cut-off lengths of the headpin as I couldn’t find any.

    IMG_1643.JPG
    Attach the leaf jump rings to the chain, wherever looks good to you.

    IMG_1648.JPG
    Finish up by attaching the ear wire to the other end of the chain.

    IMG_1658.JPG

