I’m spending a lot of time on the road at the moment, which means one thing- sock knitting. I spent an inordinate time on Ravelry last week looking up patterns. One of my thesis breaks involved buying loads of gorgeous self-striping yarn so I needed a pattern to show it off. I usually incorporate some ribbing as plain socks often get baggy around the ankles, but I loved this pattern so much that I decided to risk it for a biscuit. This is also my first toe-up sock so learning a few new techniques including Judy’s Magic Cast On. Here’s what the toe looks like.

IMAG0003

I started this post over a week ago and had a couple of short-haul flights in the interim, so here’s the first sock completed.

IMAG0016-1

And the progress I made on the left sock yesterday. It’s not the clearest picture but I wanted to give a little sense of my present surroundings. These will be finished soon, and I have a couple more sock yarn projects in the pipelines.

IMAG0023

