Most of the time I have a pair of socks on the needles as it makes for a really easily portable project that’s perfect for knitting on the go. I have to commute to work at the moment and I like having something to do in those otherwise lost hours. Since I get travel sickness very easily, I’ve never been able to read on buses so I feel very lucky that knitting doesn’t have the same effect. I made these socks for my dad’s birthday in about a month, using odds and ends of time.

 

20140612-085634-32194556.jpg
Here they are gloriously modelled on my windowsill on a sunny evening.
I’m a little worried about the fit as I’m not sure my dad measured his foot that carefully when I asked. Also my brain wasn’t working very well at all for this project, hence one sock is at least an inch longer than the other.

20140612-085826-32306684.jpg
See?
Bit worrying as the next two projects I’m planning to cast on are Peerie Flooers, my first Fair Isle colour work hat, and Opposite Pole, a cabled winter cardigan with a unique construction. So a bit more complex than socks!

