These cupcakes were for one of my oldest friends whose dearest wish on her 27th birthday was a cake mountain. I’m pleased with my contribution. These were like the foothills. I know she loves white chocolate, hence the frosting. The crazy sweetness of the frosting is tempered by the rich darkness of the cakes. And glitter. Shiny shiny green glitter to remind us of the time we visited the Leprechaun Museum in Dublin. 20140330-223845.jpg

Pots of delicious gold.

I used my go-to chocolate cupcake recipe, which I halved because I knew there was a strong likelihood that there would be way too much cake at the party. I’ll give the full recipe, which makes 20 cupcakes. I also halved the frosting recipe, and ended up with enough frosting for 8 cupcakes. Again, I’ll give the full recipe. There aren’t many process pictures today because I was baking at night. Check out this earlier post for more pics. Frosting recipe adapted from here.

Ingredients

For the cupcakes

1/4 cup (2 oz) butter, at room temperature

1 cup (7 oz) sugar 2oz (60g) of your favourite chocolate

2 eggs, at room temperature

2 egg yolks, at room temperature

1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon (4 1/2 fl oz) oil. I used walnut.

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup (3oz) full-fat sour cream*

1 cup (5 oz) plain flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup (2 oz) cocoa powder

1/2 cup (4 fl oz) room temperature coffee, water or a mixture

*I substituted Greek yoghurt as I didn’t have sour cream. It was okay, but I think the sour cream gives a more moist result, probably due to its higher fat content

For the frosting

6oz (170g) white chocolate, melted and slightly cooled

1 cup (230g) butter, at room temperature

2 cups (240g) icing sugar

¼ cup (60ml) double cream. I substituted milk, but cream gives a better frosting.

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt (to taste, be careful if you use salted butter)

Method

  1. Line a muffin tin with paper liners and preheat your oven to 180C (170 fan)
  2. Melt the chocolate. A minute in the microwave should do.
  3. Mix the butter and sugar in a large bowl until well combined. The mixture should resemble wet sand.
  4. Once the chocolate is cool enough to touch, add to the butter and sugar and mix until combined.
  5. Add the eggs and yolks one at a time, beating between each addition.
  6. Add the oil, vanilla and sour cream and mix until combined.
  7. Sift the dry ingredients together into a separate bowl. Add to the wet ingredients in three batches, mixing between each addition.
  8. Add the water or coffee and mix until smooth.
  9. Divide the batter among your paper liners, filling each 2/3 of the way up. 1/3 cup of batter is about right.
  10. Bake for 14-20 minutes, until they pass the toothpick test
  11. Remove from pan immediately to cool on a wire rack. Leave to cool completely before frosting.

Make the frosting

  1. Melt the white chocolate and leave to cool.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the butter for 1 minute until smooth. I made this frosting by hand with a wooden spoon and it came out really well. However, a hand or stand mixer may have given a slightly smoother result.
  3. Add the icing sugar about 1/2 a cup at a time and mix until smooth after each addition.
  4. Stir in the cooled white chocolate and then beat until creamy.
  5. Add the vanilla extract and salt, to taste.
  6. Add in the cream. If using milk, add slowly and stop when the frosting reaches the consistency you want.
  7. Beat until smooth.
  8. Spoon or pipe onto your cooled cupcakes. My trusty Wilton 1M tip has got a bit bent so the piping wasn’t as gorgeous as normal. Treat your piping tips with gentle loving care, peeps!

20140331-121208.jpg

20140331-121215.jpg

