I dug this old recipe out for a friend recently, then a couple of weeks had a sudden irresistible urge to bake. These peanut butter biscuits are great as I almost always have all of the ingredients to hand when I really need some freshly baked goodness in my life. These came out different to how I remembered, but still very tasty. Everyone in my office raved about them.

20140327-104908.jpg

They don’t look much but they’re so easy and tasty, who cares? They have a slightly salty sweetness that is very characteristic of American peanut butter. The middles stay soft any gooey if you don’t over bake them. And the prep time is only about 30 mins.

I can’t credit this recipe as I found it on the internet about ten years ago, then converted the cup measurements into weights (badly) so this probably bears almost no relation to the original proportions anyway.

Ingredients

  • 4oz butter
  • 6oz peanut butter (I prefer creamy but used crunchy this time as it was all I had)
  • 10oz brown sugar
  • 3tbsp milk
  • 1tbsp vanilla
  • 14oz plain flour
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 – 3/4tsp salt (to taste)

I have it on good authority added chocolate chips = added yum

Makes about 24 2 inch biscuits

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190C (175 fan). Line a baking tray with parchment.
  2. Combine peanut butter, butter, sugar, milk, vanilla and egg and mix until well blended
  3. Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined
  4. Drop large teaspoons 2cm apart onto a baking sheet. IMPORTANT NOTE: I’m sure when I used to make these, the batter was a dropping consistency. However, this time it came out as a stiff dough. I hand rolled tablespoons of dough into flat discs for baking (they hardly spread at all in the oven) but rolling up into a sausage using cling film, refrigerating and then slicing into discs would have worked better. I have a feeling my scales may be broken, which could have caused me to use too much flour. Or maybe the last time I wrote down the recipe I made a mistake? Either way, use whichever method works best for the mixture you end up with. I might make a second test-batch of these to see what happens.
  5. ANYWAY, get that shiz into cookie-sized bits onto your tray. Again, this recipe freezes really well at this stage.
  6. 20140327-134628.jpg
  7. Bake for 6-12 minutes, until the cookies are set and beginning to brown.
  8. 20140327-134852.jpg
  9. Mine look cracked like that because I realised they weren’t going to spread out so I pressed them down with a wooden spoon to stop them getting too thick.
  10. Leave to cool on a wire rack.
