Been working on my papercutting on and off over the past couple of months. I was most recently inspired by a competition set by an awesome cutter, Paper Panda to design a cut based on a song. I wish I’d had time to sketch out a few more designs but I quite quickly settled on Dog Days are Over by Florence and the Machine. I listened to it all the time after I split up with a boyfriend a couple of years ago and still get a little memory of that feeling each time I hear it.

20140309-100535.jpg
I wanted to use tracing paper to transfer this more complex design, but I couldn’t find any. I improvised with baking parchment, which kind of worked. The graphite seemed to rub off the paper more easily than desirable. So I’d only try this in a pinch.

20140309-115643.jpg
I also made a little card for my dad.

20140309-115748.jpg
His birthday’s in May and I STILL don’t know what to make for him. Men are so inconvenient.

