Getting a Paul Hollywood bread book for Christmas inspired me to try and bake more bread in 2014. I had a bash last year when I found a lovely recipe for a honey and oat loaf. However, I tend to subscribe to the ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ school of baking and so made that bread 10 times rather than branch out and risk something new. Well, this year I will try to break the habit.

The first recipe that struck me was this chive and ricotta bread. I tried ricotta for the first time about a year ago and loved it. Well it is cheese, after all. I don’t think I’ve ever bought chives before. They’re the sort of thing I tend to omit from recipes as they seem more decorative than anything else. They give this bread a distinct oniony taste that is quite nice, but I prefer my breads to be on the sweet side. Still, I have the other half of the dough in the freezer and I’m looking forward to it.

20140118-104207.jpg

This is the second loaf, which survived freezing well, though I think I overworked the dough a bit so it seemed a bit less light.

Ingredients

  • 1kg strong white flour
  • 3tsp salt
  • 30g instant yeast
  • 150ml olive oil
  • 600ml water
  • 250g ricotta
  • 4tbsp chopped chives

Makes 2 large loaves

How

Put all ingredients except chives into a large bowl, then mix using your hands for 3-4mins.

Tip onto a floured surface and knead for 2-3minutes.

Add the chives, then knead for a further 3-4minutes.

20140118-182038.jpg

 

Cover with clingfilm or a damp tea-towel and leave to prove for about 90minutes, until doubled in size.

20140118-182047.jpg

 

Line a baking tray with baking parchment.

Tip the dough onto a floured surface and divide. If freezing, wrap half of the dough in clingfilm then place in a plastic container in the freezer. To resume the recipe, leave to thaw in the fridge overnight and then proceed as below, adding more time for the second prove (about double).

Shape half into a rough sausage, tapered at both ends. Place on tray and leave to prove, lightly covered with clingfilm, for about an hour.

20140118-182238.jpg

20140118-182248.jpg

 

Pre-heat the oven to 220C (190 fan).

Bake for 25minutes until the bread sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. Put on a wire rack to cool.

20140118-182307.jpg

This bread colours really nicely in the oven. There’s probably a reason for that but I don’t know it! It’s cracked because I’m stupid and dropped it on the floor seconds after removing it from the oven.

