I’ve always been intrigued by the Oreo cookie. Interesting that America’s most popular biscuit is so absolutely black and white. I still like them every now and again, but I do try to avoid excessively processed foods as much as I can. The chocolate sugar cookies I made a few weeks ago, combined with some leftover frosting in the freezer, inspired me to try making my own chocolate and ‘creme’ sandwich biscuits. This is why it’s so good to hoard leftover baking bits in the freezer, you can make something exciting with minimal effort.

Here’s how they turned out.

20131223-212111.jpg

You will need:

How:

Cut out and bake your chocolate cookies. Remember that you will need 2 of each shape to make the sandwich. If you are using a non-symmetrical shape, make sure you turn one of them upside-down before baking. Though this isn’t essential, it means that the ‘nice’ side of each biscuit will be what is seen.

20131223-195238.jpg

Leave to cool completely on a wire rack.

If you’re using leftover frosting, you may want to add a couple of tablespoons of icing sugar to firm it up a bit. You want it to hold its shape at room temperature.

Take a heaped teaspoon of frosting and put it in the centre of one of your cookies, on the bottom. Spread roughly evenly, leaving a border of a few mm around the edge.

20131223-213409.jpg

Press your second cookie on top. Use a spatula, knife or finger to clean up any frosting that squishes out.

20131223-213418.jpg

I was worried that the frosting might soak into the cookies and make them go soggy after a few hours so I tested it out. Left overnight either in the fridge or at room temperatures, the cookies stay crunchy and delicious.

20131226-002929.jpg

