I felt like I should offer my mum something nice for Christmas this year. Our relationship hasn’t been the easiest over the years but it’s in a pretty good place now. What better to mark that than a hand knitted present? Mum requested socks in her favourite colour and I scoured Ravelry for a suitable pattern. I’ve always made socks in stocking stitch in the past (appropriate) but found that they can get stretched out and baggy. So I wanted something ribbed. There’s something about ribbing that’s quite annoying. It’s such a useful pattern for keeping things flat yet stretchy, but the extra element of concentration required to move the yarn between knits and purls irks me. When I found the pattern for these Nemesis socks, I thought the garter rib might be a nice compromise. And since it’s on Knitty, it’s a free pattern (bonus). Here’s how they turned out.

20131223-183349.jpg

20131223-183404.jpg
The eagle-eyed among you may notice that the socks are a little baggy on me because mum’s feet are a couple of sizes bigger than mine.

I’m very pleased with how they turned out. I used Wool and the Gang 100% Baby Alpaca, which is the softest and snuggliest yarn I’ve ever worked with. It makes for lovely thick house socks. I just hope they won’t wear out too quickly. For anyone who wants to see a speeded-up depiction of the sock construction process, check out this GIF. Most edifying, even if I do say so myself. Overall, I would definitely recommend this pattern. The socks took about 3 weeks to make, working between 1 and 2 hours per day on very small needles.

