Yay, my first FO of the Christmas knitting season is this pair of gloves I made for my auntie. Though she requested loud, it wasn’t until I finished the first glove that I realised how restrained my yarn colour palette is. So they came out classier than intended.

I then bought some stunning (and outrageously expensive) alpaca for my mum’s present. Mum’s favourite colour is and has always been red, so there was no other colour option. But this meant I could have some fun duplicate stitching the gloves to kick them up (class them down?) a notch.

20131130-113942.jpg

Check out this little video of the process. It probably took me an hour to decorate each glove.

20131129-212441.jpg20131129-212454.jpg

I’m really pleased with them and hope my aunt will like them. The only thing I wish is that I had some scrap white sock yarn to add a highlight to the heart, a cheeky nod to the famous 8-bit Zelda heart. But who on earth would hand knit white socks, right?

