I promised to bake for an event and had some old bananas lying around, which encouraged me to try out banana and chocolate cupcakes. I actually froze the mashed banana, which I don’t think altered the cake or frosting so I think I’ll do this in future for banana bread. Little thrifty tip! I based my recipe on these but found that the cake wasn’t very chocolatey compared to my usual chocolate cupcakes so I’ve made some changes to the recipe I’ve posted. Check out how I made these liners here.

20131114-190200.jpg
Recipe
-For the cupcakes

This recipe will make 24 mini cupcakes or 12 normal sized ones

  • 60g chocolate
  • 2 small, very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup milk, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2-1 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts (optional)

-For the chocolate-banana buttercream

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup mashed banana (about half a banana I guess?)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3 cups icing sugar

Method

  1. Line your muffin tin with liners and preheat the oven to 160C (180 fan)
  2. Mash your banana. If using frozen mashed banana, make sure it’s defrosted.
  3. Whisk in the milk, butter, vanilla, egg and egg yolk
  4. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Make a well in the centre and all the wet ingredients. Mix until no lumps remain.

  5. Fill each mini liner with 2tsps mix. For a normal cupcake, fill about 2/3 full.

20131114-190413.jpg

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the cake passes the toothpick test.

Leave to cool for a couple of minutes in the tin, then remove to a wire rack.

20131114-190423.jpg

For the buttercream

  1. Cream the butter until smooth, then add the mashed banana and vanilla and mix thoroughly.
  2. Add the cocoa and then the icing, about a cup at a time, until it reaches piping texture.

20131114-190434.jpg

Pipe onto your cupcakes. I had to be quite sparing to ensure I had enough buttercream for all my cupcakes.

20131114-190451.jpg

If you’re feeling fancy, garnish with some dried banana chips and chocolate chips. I crushed some of the banana chips, which I think gives better texture but doesn’t look as good. Note: Garnish just before serving, otherwise the butter soaks into the banana chips and makes them less crunchy.

If you’re feeling gourmet, you could garnish with salty banana chips*.

*Disclaimer: I have not tried this and accept no responsibility if it tastes terrible.

