The horror of the festive season is upon us and with it comes sock-yarn aplenty for all the family requests for socks and gloves. Small items are perfect to knit on the go so I don’t mind too much, and they seem so quick after my Blue Ivy cardigan, which took about two months.
I hope these stripy creations will fulfil my auntie’s design brief of ‘as lairy as possible’. I also got to use up the lovely blue and green yarn I’ve had in my stash for months.

20131109-122247.jpg
These are Broad Street mittens minus the mitten shell. I made a few changes to the pattern, knitting on 3.25mm needles rather than 2.75mm to makes them go slightly quicker. I cast on 4 fewer stitches to balance this change.
I decided not to enclose the thumb as my aunt wants to use these for driving. However, I found the thumb way too baggy so I increased 1 fewer stitch in the thumb gusset and also cast on 1 fewer.
Here’s a close up of the fingers.

20131109-122350.jpg
I haven’t really knit stripes in the round before but it was pretty easy. This page has some very useful tips to help avoid jogs in your stripes, which I really don’t like. You can see here that my stripes came out pretty evenly.

20131125-123719.jpg

