I fell in love with this cowl when I first saw it a few months ago, and it is made with my favourite yarn, Rowan Kidsilk Haze Glamour, so it seemed like fate. This was a bit of an arduous knit, it just seemed to take forever even though it’s done on fairly large needles. Hence it taking about six months from casting on, with a several big breaks. The pattern is available to buy here.

Check out this seam.

20131109-213556.jpg

What’s that? You can’t see it? Maybe that’s because I grafted it in pattern, baby! It took about three hours (because I made a mistake and undoing Kitchener stitch is a bitch) but I think it was worth it because the seam is, for all intents and purposes invisible.

Side note: Why is it called Kitchener stitch? I like to imagine Lord Kitchener sitting in a war room saying, “Knit purl, purl knit” while his admirals look on, baffled.

Anyway, grafting in pattern was a first for me, aided by this very useful post on the process. It also required a provisional cast on, another new technique.

Provisional cast on

I can’t remember which method I used now, but I would have Googled it.

20131109-213539.jpg

