For some reason I’ve been inspired to knit recently, even though I normally reserve my knitting for autumn and winter. While seeking needles to do my first ever provisional cast on, I remembered that my favourite ever sewing project was my needle roll. Here it is.

Opened up

The fabrics all came from my mum’s large, varied and random fabric stash. This roll really is a brilliant way of keeping your straight needles in one place and takes up very little space. I used the pattern from Stitch ‘n’ Bitch. Here it is rolled up.

DSC00212

I particularly love this duck fabric.

Ducks

I spotted it straight away as what I wanted for the main colour. When I told mum, she told me she’d originally bought it to make a dress for me when I was a baby. My tastes clearly haven’t changed at all in the past quarter of a century!

