I’ve been craving some craft time recently and I also bought a new bottle of modelling clay softener. I finally had some time on my hands the other evening and it seemed that my stars had finally aligned.

This is what I ended up making.

13 baked front

I was originally going to make the mount more of a traditional frame shape, but then I thought that if you’re going to make a magical unicorn, you might as well go all the way and have it emerging from a rainbow heart featuring glow-in-the-dark stars. Here’s how I made it.

You will need:

  • Fimo (or other modelling clay) in a variety of colours
  • Craft knife

I always work on a piece of glass when I use Fimo. I recommend this as it can go straight in the oven.

How I did it:

  1. I started with a large-ish piece of white Fimo and made the basic shape for the head, based on Google image searches that I liked. I made the ears separately and modelled them on, as with the nostrils, which were very thin tubes that I shaped around the glass head of a pin.       1 plain white head
  2. I did the horn next. I ummed and ahhhed for ages over whether to go for silver or gold.2 with horn
  3. I started with a silver cone, then added the long, thin tube of glow-in-the-dark around it. I rolled it gently to ensure that the two parts were stuck together properly. As you can probably see in the first pic, I made a slight indentation in the forehead before adding the horn and pressed it in as firmly as I could without distorting it. It’ll probably fall off eventually, but I’ll just glue it back on.
  4. I began working on the base next. I began with a disc of blue slightly larger than the unicorn’s neck. I then wound cylinders of colour around and sealed them as neatly as I could.3 making the base up to orange
  5. Once I finished with all the colours, I squished the colours together as so that there were no gaps. I began shaping the frame, first into an oval due to my original idea.4 beginning to shape base
  6. Next, I carefully made the heart as well as I could without distorting the colours.5 finished base before turning
  7. At this stage, I flipped the base as I thought the side nearer the glass would be smoother. I blended the colours together and made a smooth surface.                                         6 complete base
  8. Next came the attachment process.                                             7 head on base
  9. I did the eyes next, starting with a small sphere of black that I cut in half. I placed them as evenly as possible.                                                                                     8 eyes
  10. I popped some tiny white highlight on the eyes, then began working on the mane. The mane was made up of long, thin tear shapes of various sizes like these. I blended the different shades of pink myself.                                                                       Pink shapes for hair
  11. I placed them, using the glass-headed pin to help. I was worried at this stage that I wouldn’t like the mane.                                                  9 highlights and starting mane
  12. I wanted to cover the junction between the horn and the head, with no white showing. The hardest bit was probably getting the ‘parting’ to look neat. I used lots of small pieces to achieve this.                                                          10 continuing hair
  13. Here it is before I baked it. I also made the stars using very long, thin tubes of glow-in-the-dark clay.
  14. I put my models in a cold oven, then switch it on to about 100C (remembering how crazily hot my oven gets). I leave them to bake for about 45 mins, until the clay feels quite firm to the touch. I then leave the model in the oven after I’ve switched it off. This is to try and make sure that the glass doesn’t crack.
  15. Here’s the finished product.                                                                                            12 Baked left side 13 baked right side
