More tea-time favourites from me. I bloody love this quiche. I don’t know if it keeps well, as I’ve only ever made it for company and none has ever lived to tell the tale. It’s bacony, cheesy, creamy deliciousness. With pastry. I don’t have many good pictures, unfortunately, as I was so busy baking that day that I woefully neglected my bloggerly duties. Also, the quiches look a bit more ‘caramelised’ than I would have liked. My oven continues to loathe me.

For the pastry:

  • 175g plain flour
  • 100g cold butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 egg yolk

For the delicious filling:

  • 200g bacon. Get lardons if you’re feeling too lazy to cut the bacon up yourself. I prefer smoked bacon for this.
  • 50g Gruyère
  • 200ml crème fraîche
  • 200ml double cream
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • A pinch of ground nutmeg

This recipe made enough pastry for two 8cm tartlets as well as a 23cm tart. I made these veggie for a couple of my more virtuous friends by subbing some wilted spinach for the bacon. I was assured that they were still nice.

How:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (160C fan).
  2. Either mix the pastry in a food processor, using 4tsp water to bind. If, like me, you don’t have a processor, roughly rub in the butter, then stir in the yolk and add the water.
  3. Tip onto a lightly floured surface and roll as thinly as you can.Rolled pastry
  4. Line a buttered, loose-bottomed 23cm tart tin with the pastry, pressing it firmly into the flutes and pricking the bottom with a fork. Trim the pastry edges with scissors (save any trimmings) so it sits slightly above the tin. I pop the tin into the freezer for a few minutes at this stage, as it allegedly stops the pastry from shrinking. I’m not convinced this works, but I do it anyway.
  5. Line with baking parchment or foil, shiny side down, fill with baking beans and blind bake for 15mins.
  6. Remove the beans and parchment/foil and bake for a further 4-5 mins, until the pastry is light gold. If you see any holes or cracks in the pastry, fill these with uncooked pastry trimmings. This can be done a day in advance.Cooked pastry case
  7. For the fillings, fry the lardons in a small pan for a couple of minutes. Drain off any liquid, then continue cooking until the lardons just start to colour, but aren’t crisp. Remove and drain on paper towels.
  8. Cut three quarters of the cheese into small dice and finely grate the rest. Scatter the diced cheese and fried lardons over the bottom of the pastry case.Filling but no egg yet
  9. Using a spoon, beat the crème fraîche to loosen, then slowly beat in the cream. Mix in the beaten eggs. Season (you shouldn’t need too much salt) and add (or grate in) your nutmeg. Pour three-quarters of the filling into the pastry case.
  10. Half-pull the oven shelf out and put the tin on. It’s wise to bake it on top of an additional baking sheet. Quickly pour the rest of the filling into the case, so you can get it right to the top with less risk of spilling. Scatter the grated cheese over, then push the shelf back into the oven.
  11. Bake for about 25 mins, or until golden and softly set- the centre shouldn’t feel too firm. Let the quiche settle for 4-5 mins, then remove from tin. Delicious hot or cold, even if a teeny bit burnt.Baked
