I’ve been absent for ages due to… well, life getting in the way of blogging, really. I became a year older and I took an awesome and non-crafty whirlwind visit to the States. If you’re very lucky, I’ll post some of the scrapbook pages I make from the trip later.

But craft seems to be in my blood, so I haven’t let it slide completely. Last weekend, a friend and I did a day’s introduction to ceramic class. The three hours passed by in a flash and I didn’t want to get clay goo on my phone snazzy and expensive camera, so I didn’t take any step-by-step pics, but here is the final product, before the people at the studio glaze and fire it.

Pic 1 Pic 2 Pic 3

It doesn’t quite represent the perfect serving dish I’d imagined, but I can handle it being rather rough around the edges. The lady also told me it was the biggest item a beginner has ever made using ‘the coil’ method (cue contraception jokes. Anyone?). And we all know that size counts.

